Do I Need BASSET Certification?
The State of Illinois developed the Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers Education and Training (BASSET) program to provide bartenders, sellers and servers with information about the effects of alcohol and drug abuse. The second purpose for this program is to build the skills sellers, servers and bartenders need to identify and intervene with customers where there is potential misuse of alcohol. By completing BASSET certification, (often called a "bartender's license"), you will have the information and skills necessary to serve alcohol responsibly.
Are there any exceptions to the BASSET Certification requirement for Bartenders, Sellers, & Servers?
Generally speaking, anyone serving alcohol in the Illinois will need BASSET certification. You may request, in writing, an exception to that requirement if:
- You can prove you have some form of economic hardship that limits your ability to complete the program.
- You can establish that you are not able to meet the program requirements.
Any exception will automatically expire at the end of the license period in which it was granted. Also, The Commission can and will revoke an exception when your circumstances change and the grounds for the exception no longer exist.
What are the qualifications for a BASSETT License?
To sell or serve alcohol in Illinois you must:
- be at least 18 years old to serve or 21 years old to sell
- meet criminal record requirements, and
- know the Illinois law related to alcohol service
Does my BASSET License move with me when I change jobs?
You may find that alcohol and server requirements can vary by county or municipality.
Get your BASSET permit/license today: